The best AI interview assistant for Mac is a native macOS app that supports your macOS version and chip, explains every permission it asks for, and hears the interviewer through your Mac's system audio rather than one browser tab. Our pick is CoPilot Interview, a native app for macOS 12 or later with 15 free minutes every day; Verve AI, LockedIn AI and Cluely are the alternatives most worth testing, depending on your Mac and budget.
We compared eight tools that state macOS support on their own sites, checked October 2026: how each runs on a Mac (native app or browser), the minimum macOS version, Apple Silicon and Intel support, the permissions involved, how it captures call audio, and price. This comparison is part of our research on the state of AI interview assistants in 2026. For step-by-step installation and fixes, see our Mac setup and troubleshooting guide.
The 8 best Mac interview apps at a glance
Disclosure: we make CoPilot Interview. It is listed first and marked Best choice where we think that's accurate; its limits are in its review. "Not stated" means the vendor doesn't say on its own site.
| Tool | How it runs on a Mac | Minimum macOS | Apple Silicon and Intel | Free option | Paid from (checked October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CoPilot Interview | Best choice: native app (zip download), plus a browser mock interview | macOS 12 | Any Mac that runs macOS 12 or later | Best choice: 15 minutes every day, all four modes, no account or card | $14.99/mo Standard (sale; regular $19.99) |
| Verve AI | Native app (universal .dmg), browser and mobile | Not stated | Both, stated | Forever-free plan, no card | $44.99/mo, or $16.99/mo billed annually |
| LockedIn AI | Native app, web app, iOS and Android | macOS 13.1 | Not stated | 5-minute sessions, up to 60 minutes a day | $54.99/mo, or $39.99/mo billed every 3 months |
| Cluely | Native app and iOS; a general meeting assistant | macOS 10.15 | Both, stated | Starter plan with limited AI responses | $19.99/mo, or $11.99/mo billed annually |
| Final Round AI | Native app (drag to Applications) | Not on its download page | Not stated | Prep tools only; live sessions need Pro | $25/mo billed annually; $150 month to month |
| Natively AI | Native app; source-available | macOS 12 | Separate Apple Silicon and Intel downloads | Free for personal use with your own API key or local models | Hosted AI from $8/mo; Pro licence $39/yr |
| Parakeet AI | Native app, or desktop Chrome | Not stated | Not stated | 10 sessions of up to 10 minutes | $38 per 1-hour credit; unlimited $149.90/mo |
| Sensei AI | Web app in your browser | Any Mac with a modern browser | Browser-based | 15-minute copilot sessions | $89/mo, or $24/mo billed annually |
Prices change often; confirm them on each vendor's pricing page. LockedIn AI in particular rotates offers. For the full category on every platform, see our comparison of 15 interview tools.
What should you check before installing an interview AI app for Mac?
An AI interview assistant is software that uses speech-to-text and a large language model to run practice interviews, suggest structured answers and give feedback. On a Mac, five details decide whether it works on the day:
- Native app or browser. A native app can capture your Mac's system audio, so it hears the interviewer in the Zoom, Microsoft Teams or Google Meet app alike. A browser tool usually hears only a browser tab. Our Chrome extension vs desktop comparison explains the trade-off.
- Minimum macOS version. Requirements in this list range from macOS 10.15 to 13.1. Check yours under Apple menu, About This Mac.
- Chip support. Apple Silicon Macs can run many Intel apps through Rosetta, but a native or universal build is the safer choice for an app that runs alongside a video call. Few vendors in this list say which they ship.
- Permissions. Expect a Microphone prompt and, for apps that hear the call, Screen & System Audio Recording. More on both below.
- Practice features. The Mac app you rehearse with should be the one you trust on the day. Prefer one with a scored mock interview, so setup testing doubles as practice.
Our guide to system requirements covers memory, network and headset advice.
Which macOS permissions does an interview app need?
macOS won't let any app hear your microphone or your Mac's audio without your permission. Two settings matter, both under System Settings, Privacy & Security:
| Permission | What it allows | Who needs it |
|---|---|---|
| Microphone | Hearing your voice, for spoken practice and scoring | Every tool that listens to you, including any mock interview |
| Screen & System Audio Recording | Recording the sound your Mac plays, which is how an app hears the interviewer; apps can be allowed audio only or screen and audio | Native apps that caption the other person, and any screenshot features |
Apple's guides cover microphone access and screen and system audio recording access. CoPilot Interview asks for Microphone and Screen Recording, which macOS uses for system-audio capture. Final Round AI's own Mac article says its app needs microphone access, plus screen recording for its overlay. The other vendors in this list don't document their permissions, so expect the same two prompts from any native app that hears the call. Our explainer on how interview apps capture system audio covers why older setups needed a virtual audio device.
How each Mac AI interview app compares
1. CoPilot Interview: Best choice for practice-first Mac users
CoPilot Interview is a native desktop app for macOS 12 or later (and Windows 10+), not a browser extension. You download CoPilot Interview.zip, unzip it and run it, with no account needed for the free plan. Allow the Microphone and Screen Recording permissions when macOS asks. It runs in its own window beside Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet because it listens to your Mac's audio, not to one meeting app.
Start with Mock Interview: it builds questions from your résumé and the job description, reads each one aloud, and scores your spoken answer out of 10 with what to fix and a model answer, then a report card. Candidate Mode shows live captions of the interviewer's question and a structured answer in about 2 seconds after the question ends. Audio is streamed in short encrypted segments to a speech-to-text model and the question text goes to the AI model you chose; nothing is kept on our servers beyond the request, and session files stay in your Documents folder.
- Strengths: a free plan that isn't a trial (15 minutes every day, all four modes, no account or card); support back to macOS 12; scored practice in the same app you'd use on the day.
- Limits: desktop only (Windows and macOS), with no iPhone app yet and the Android companion a beta outside Google Play; no human coach; free sessions stop at 15 minutes; live captions need your Mac's audio, so the permission has to be on.
- Price: Free $0; Standard $14.99/mo on sale (regular $19.99), 60-minute sessions, up to 100 minutes a day; Pro $29.99/mo adds ChatGPT and Gemini models; Pro+ $49.99/mo adds Claude. See pricing.
The AI interview app page lists what runs on the desktop, the Android companion and the browser. CoPilot Interview isn't affiliated with Microsoft Copilot or GitHub Copilot.
2. Verve AI: best stated Apple Silicon support
Verve AI's Mac app page says the app "runs natively on both Apple Silicon (M1, M2, M3, and later) and Intel-based Macs", and the download is a universal .dmg. It also runs in a browser and on mobile, and lists some features as desktop-only. It advertises 55+ languages and has a forever-free plan with no card; per our October 2026 check, the free plan includes 3 copilot sessions a month and 5 mock interviews, and Standard is $44.99/mo or $16.99/mo billed annually. Limits: no minimum macOS version is stated, and the free plan's live sessions are few.
3. LockedIn AI: best if you also want phone apps
LockedIn AI's site lists a Mac app for macOS 13.1 and above, a Windows app, a web app for Chrome, Edge, Chromium, Opera and Brave, and iOS and Android apps. It notes that on macOS the web app can only capture Chrome tabs, so the native app is the better path for desktop call apps. Its free plan gives 5-minute sessions, up to 60 minutes a day, with no card; unlimited plans start at $54.99/mo, or $39.99/mo billed every 3 months, as of October 2026. Limits: no Apple Silicon or Intel detail, and free sessions are too short for a full mock.
4. Cluely: best for Macs on older macOS
Cluely's download page lists macOS 10.15 (Catalina) or later, an Apple Silicon or Intel processor, 500 MB of disk space and 8 GB of RAM recommended, the widest macOS range in this list. It also has an iPhone app. Cluely is a general assistant for meetings and calls rather than an interview-specific tool. As of October 2026, Starter is free with limited AI responses, and Pro is $19.99/mo or $11.99/mo billed annually. Limits: no interview-specific mock or scoring is described.
5. Final Round AI: best broad suite on Mac
Final Round AI's download page offers a Mac app you drag into Applications, but lists no minimum macOS version or chip. A Mac article on its blog says the app works on macOS 12 and later and needs microphone access, with screen recording for its overlay; confirm the version on the download page or with support before you pay. It has eight practice-interview scenarios and automatic debriefs. Pro is $25/mo billed annually ($300) or $150 month to month, and the free plan covers preparation only.
6. Natively AI: best for technical users who want control
Natively's download page has separate builds for Macs with Apple Silicon and Macs with Intel, plus Windows. Per our October 2026 check it needs macOS 12 or later, is source-available, and is free for personal use if you bring your own AI API key or run local models; hosted AI plans cost $8 to $35 a month, and a Pro licence is $39/yr or $79 one-time. Limits: you set up keys or models yourself, and it's a general live-conversation assistant rather than an interview practice tool.
7. Parakeet AI: best for paying per hour
Parakeet AI's site says its desktop app runs on Windows and macOS, and that its browser version needs desktop Chrome, where you connect to the call by sharing the call's tab. It supports 50+ languages and includes a free first mock interview. Pricing as of October 2026: 10 free sessions of up to 10 minutes, then $38 for a 1-hour credit (bundles from $59 for 3), or unlimited at $149.90/mo. Limits: no macOS version or chip detail is stated.
8. Sensei AI: best if you can't install software
Sensei AI runs as a web app, so it works on any Mac with a browser and needs no install, which helps on a managed work laptop. It includes free 15-minute copilot sessions, an AI resume builder and a story editor; paid plans are $89/mo, or $24/mo billed annually, as of October 2026. Limits: a browser tool usually hears only browser audio, so calls in the Zoom or Teams desktop apps are harder to cover.
Practice it: test any Mac interview app in 15 minutes
Whichever app you pick, test it a day or two before the interview, on the same Mac, network and headset. This routine fits inside CoPilot Interview's free daily 15 minutes.
- Check your macOS version against the table above, then install and open the app.
- Grant permissions, then quit and reopen. macOS often applies a new permission only after a relaunch.
- Run a 3-question mock interview out loud. This proves the microphone path works and doubles as a warm-up.
- Test the interviewer side. Have a friend call you on the same call app you'll use and read two questions. Captions should show their words, not yours.
- Use wired headphones if you can. Bluetooth earbuds can drop to a lower-quality mode while their mic is in use.
Nothing to install yet? The browser AI mock interview works in Safari or Chrome with 113 questions across 9 tracks. If you use live help, follow the rules of the employer or platform you're interviewing with — many people use it only to practice, which works on the free plan.
Which Mac AI interview assistant should you choose?
- You want to practice daily for free on macOS 12 or later: CoPilot Interview, our AI interview assistant for Mac and Windows.
- You want explicit Apple Silicon support and a phone version: Verve AI.
- You need iOS and Android apps too: LockedIn AI.
- Your Mac runs macOS 10.15 or 11: Cluely is the only native app here that lists those versions; a browser tool such as Sensei AI is the other route.
- You can't install software: Sensei AI or the free browser mock interview.
Choosing for a Windows PC instead? See the best AI interview assistant for Windows. For a native-only shortlist across both systems, read our AI desktop apps comparison.
Get the Mac app free
CoPilot Interview runs on macOS 12 or later: download, unzip and run, with no account or card. 15 free minutes every day for Mock Interview and live captions with a structured answer in about 2 seconds.
Download CoPilot Interview freeFAQ
What is the best AI interview assistant for Mac?
Our pick is CoPilot Interview, and we make it, so weigh that. It is a native app for macOS 12 or later with 15 free minutes every day, a scored Mock Interview and live captions with a structured answer in about 2 seconds. Verve AI is a strong alternative if you want an app that states native Apple Silicon and Intel support plus browser and mobile versions.
Do AI interview apps work on Apple Silicon Macs?
Most native ones do, but few say so clearly. As of October 2026, Verve AI states native support for Apple Silicon and Intel, Cluely lists Apple Silicon or Intel, and Natively offers separate downloads for each. CoPilot Interview runs on any Mac with macOS 12 or later. Browser-based tools such as Sensei AI run wherever your browser does.
Why does an AI interview app ask for Screen Recording permission on a Mac?
On current macOS, recording your screen and recording the sound your Mac plays share one privacy setting, called Screen & System Audio Recording. An interview app that captions the interviewer needs the system-audio part to hear the call. CoPilot Interview asks for it because macOS uses it for system-audio capture, plus the Microphone permission for your own voice.
Can I use a browser-based interview tool on a Mac instead of installing an app?
Yes, but check how it hears the call. Browser tools usually capture audio from a browser tab, so they work best when the call itself runs in Chrome. LockedIn AI says its web app on macOS can only capture Chrome tabs. A native app that captures system audio works with the Zoom or Teams desktop apps too.
Which older Macs can run an AI interview app?
It depends on each app's minimum macOS version. As of October 2026, Cluely lists macOS 10.15 or later, CoPilot Interview needs macOS 12 or later, and LockedIn AI needs macOS 13.1 or later. Check About This Mac in the Apple menu for your version before you download anything.
Is it OK to use an AI interview app on my Mac during a real interview?
Only where the employer allows it. Follow the rules of the employer or platform you're interviewing with — many people use it only to practice, which works on the free plan. Never use one during an online assessment or a coding test.